Latest News

Upcoming Events

Lucas Oil ASCS Ready for Las Cruces Return



Lucas Oil ASCS Ready for Las Cruces Return

LAS CRUCES, N.M. (November 3, 2014) - Round two of the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series National Tour's swing through the borderland, the Southern New Mexico Speedway in Las Cruces, N.M. will see action on Saturday, November 8.

An early part of the American Sprint Car Series' history, the twenty-third event ever held by the National Tour took place on September 4, 1994 at the five-sixteenths mile oval with Tim Crawley besting local favorites Rickey Hood and Mike Archuleta.

With multiple drivers in the running for the 2014 season championship, the points going into Saturday night could take a dramatic swing with Brad Loyet looking to put some distance over Jeff Swindell who tails by only 36 markers.

Having to survive Friday night at the El Paso Speedway Park, Swindell is far from the only worry for Loyet as the top five enter the weekend 72 points apart. New Mexico's Johnny Herrera holds third only 51 points behind with Sunnyvale, Texas shoe Sam Hafertepe, Jr., and four time series champion, Jason Johnson making the top five.

Washington's Seth Bergman is sixth with Matt Covington seventh. Tony Bruce, Jr., Aaron Reutzel, and Blake Hahn make the top ten in tour standings.

Among those in the top ten, two have victories at the Southern New Mexico Speedway with Johnny Herrera topping action on November 11, 2011 and Matt Covington winning following night. Herrera also has the most podium finishes of anyone in the top-ten at the Southern New Mexico Speedway with four.

The series has graced southern New Mexico clay nine times with just as many winners. David Gravel captured the win during the series visit in 2013.

Saturday, November 8 will get underway at 7:45 P.M. (MT). Tickets are on sale by calling 575-524-7913. Tickets may also be purchased the day of the race. Admission is $20 with kids 10 years and younger admitted into the grandstands free of charge. Pit Passes are $35 and must be purchased at the track.

For more information on the Southern New Mexico Speedway, log onto

For continued updates on the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, log onto

SNM Speedway Winners: Tim Crawley (9/4/1994), Danny Young (10/7/1994), Chris Ikard (2/23/1997), Jack Dover (11/12/2010), Steve Kinser (11/13/2010), Johnny Herrera (11/11/2011), Matt Covington (11/12/2011), Travis Rilat (11/10/2012), David Gravel (11/2/2013)


Saturday, November 8, 2014 - Gates Open at 5:30 P.M. / Racing at 7:45 P.M. (MT)


Southern New Mexico Speedway
10263 Robert Larson Blvd.
Las Cruces, NM 88007

Contact Information:

Phone: 575-524-7913


Event Coverage:

Live online audio is provided for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real on Live broadcasts are brought to you by Lucas Oil and presented by the McCarthy Auto Group, located in the Kansas City metropolitan area.

Line-ups, finishes, and further updates are provided throughout each race night at and

Live Timing and scoring is available at most Lucas Oil ASCS events via Race Monitor which is available in the App Store of your Smart Phone or Tablet.


2014 A-Feature Winner(s): Sam Hafertepe, Jr. - 4, Christopher Bell - 4, Brad Loyet - 3, Jeff Swindell - 3, Tony Bruce, Jr. - 3, Aaron Reutzel -3, Brian Brown - 3, Rico Abreu - 2, Seth Bergman - 2, Wayne Johnson - 2, Derek Hagar - 2, Matt Covington - 2, Patrick Stasa - 1, Sammy Swindell - 1, Davey Heskin - 1, Tim Crawley - 1

2014 Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Brad Loyet 3,740; 2. Jeff Swindell 3,704; 3. Johnny Herrera 3,689; 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,687; 5. Jason Johnson 3,668; 6. Seth Bergman 3,487; 7. Matt Covington 3,455; 8. Tony Bruce, Jr. 3,400; 9. Aaron Reutzel 3,199; 10. Blake Hahn 3,141;


The 2014 season marks the twenty-third year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, KSE Racing Products, SpeedMart, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Saldana Racing Products, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley's Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News
Dirt Track

Live Timing & Scoring

Watch Live on FloRacing

Watch Live on FloRacing

Fantasy Racing

Play Fantasy Racing