Latest News

Upcoming Events

Lucas Oil ASCS teams head west for the Battle at the Border



Lucas Oil ASCS teams head west for the Battle at the Border

Bryan Hulbert - TULSA, Okla. (October 27, 2013) Following four straight nights of competition in the 26th COMP Cams Short Track Nationals, the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real begin the nearly 17-hour journey from Little Rock, Ark. to the very edge of the southwestern United States.

Beginning Friday, November 1, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real returns to the El Paso Speedway Park in El Paso, Texas. The site of two previous National Tour visits, the series’ first appeared at the three-eighths, slightly banked oval in 1994 with Rickey Hood topping the field. Absent from the track until 2012, Logan Forler parked in victory lane for the first time against the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour in his first outing of the season his family backed machine, after parting ways with Van Dyke Motorsports with five nights remaining on the 2012 lineup.

Splitting the weekend between Texas and New Mexico, The Southern New Mexico Speedway in Las Cruces, N.M. will play host of the National Tour for the ninth time in series history on Saturday, November 2. A different winner in eight visits, Tim Crawley and Danny Young each earned victories in 1994. Las Cruces native Chris Ikard pulled off the upset win in 1997 with the series vacant of the facility for the next 13 years.

Nebraska’s Jack Dover picked up the preliminary night win in the series 2010 return with Steve Kinser proving to be untouchable the following night for his first Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour triumph. A pair of nights in 2011 saw Albuquerque’s Johnny Herrera winning in front of what could be called a hometown crowd as Las Cruces is located just over three-hours south of the “Duke City”. The Saturday portion of the weekend went to Matt Covington who led flag to flag for his second National Tour triumph.

Introducing the El Paso Speedway Park to the weekend in 2012, the Las Cruces oval took the Saturday date with Travis Rilat piloting the Richard Saumure backed No. 39c to a very emotional National Tour victory, the first for the 2003 National Tour Champion since begin critically injured in 2010.

Teams making the trek to the southwest will be pleased as both facilities have undergone improvements since the series visit in 2012, mainly in El Paso with the addition of modern outdoor lighting at the El Paso Speedway Park. Still utilizing the Halogen based lights originally installed shortly after the tracks opening in 1977, track owners Royal Jones, Jimmy Ray, and Sherman Barnett spent most of the off-season having the track’s lighting system completely redone to provide a safer racing environment as the track continues to expand and bring in bigger events.

Both nights of competition are scheduled to begin at 6:30 P.M. (MDT) with gates opening at 4:00 P.M. and will be paired with the Hose Advantage Store ASCS Southwest Region. Tickets are on sale with reserved seating, plus a free pit pass for only $30 each night. General admission is $20 each night with kids five years and younger admitted free in the grandstands. To purchase tickets, contact the El Paso Speedway Park by calling 915-791-8749 and the Southern New Mexico Speedway at 575-524-7913.

Series Winners: El Paso Speedway Park - Logan Forler (10/9/2012), Rickey Hood (10/8/1994)

Series Winners: Southern NM Speedway - Travis Rilat (10/11/2012), Matt Covington (11/12/11), Johnny Herrera (11/11/11), Steve Kinser (10/13/10), Jack Dover (10/12/10), Chris Ikard (2/23/1997), Danny Young (10/7/1994), Tim Crawley (9/4/1994)

The Series:

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real

When and Where:

Friday, November 1 - Open at 4:00 P.M. / racing at 6:30 P.M.
El Paso Speedway Park
14751 Marina Blvd.
El Paso, TX 79938

Saturday, November 2 - Open at 4:00 P.M. / racing at 6:30 P.M.
Southern New Mexico Speedway
12125 Robert Larson Blvd.
Las Cruces, NM 88007

Contact Information:


Email (EPSP):
Email (SNMS):

Phone (EPSP): 915-791-8749
Phone (SNMS): 575-524-7913

Event Coverage:

Live online audio is provided for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real on Live broadcasts are brought to you by Lucas Oil and presented by the McCarthy Auto Group, located in the Kansas City metropolitan area.

Line-ups, finishes, and further updates are provided throughout each race night at and

Live Timing and scoring is available at most Lucas Oil ASCS events via Race Monitor which is available in the App Store of your Smart Phone or Tablet.


2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Jeff Swindell-5, Johnny Herrera-4, Roger Crockett-3, Brian Brown-4, Danny Lasoski-3, Logan Forler-2, Brad Loyet-2, Tony Bruce, Jr.-2, Sammy Swindell-2, Kyle Bellm, Jack Dover, Seth Bergman, Jonathan Cornell, Travis Rilat, Justin Henderson, Shane Stewart, Tim Crawley, Anthony Nicholson

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 4,828; 2. Johnny Herrera 4,762; 3. Jeff Swindell 4,585; 4. Brad Loyet 4,562; 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 4,518; 6. Logan Forler 4,381; 7. Seth Bergman 4,264; 8. Dustin Morgan 4,053; 9. Cole Wood 3,818; 10. Brandon Hahn 3,145;


The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters,, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News
Dirt Track

Live Timing & Scoring

Watch Live on FloRacing

Watch Live on FloRacing

Fantasy Racing

Play Fantasy Racing